FilamentReviewsRepRapWorld

From RepRapWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Reviews for: RepRapWorld (Template)
Back to Filament Suppliers.



(Answer Template)
Date Material(s) Shape/Delivered Thickness (mm) Measured thickness (mm) Quantity Delivered amount Costs (kg) Costs (Meter) Destination & shipping costs Rating 0-10 Additional notes & Signed by
08:55, 1 September 2011 PLA Round/Round 1.75mm & 3mm 1.58-1.99mm & 2.79-3.11mm 5x500gr (green/yellow/red/blue/black) ???kg €20/kg range - shipping 6 One of the few in the €20/kg range (maybe imported from other china suppliers ?), I gave it a try. Ordered 26aug / Received 31aug. Shipped with TNT, in the delays announced of 4days

Reprapworld review package.JPGReprapworld reveiw filament.JPG

They have some bending (one in the blue, 4-5 for the black), a bubble sometimes (mostly for the green translucent), and little bit dirt (mostly visible on the black, and few black dusts on the others) probably need to clean it before extruding.

The black roll of 1,75mm have also some interruptions (it's not a continuous roll).

Beside that it seems correct. -Emmanuel. Each 3mm filament is fine, they required some tweaking (average diameter) but printed good.

However I wouldn't recommend the 1,75mm-black, I don't know why but the print quality is far from the other filament and the uneven diameter has finally led to a nozzle jam (fortunately the bowden tube broke before a critical failure). --Emmanuel 17:58, 28 September 2011 (UTC) I tried again to use the 1,75 black but failed again (and the min-max diameter is worse than previously measured)

--Emmanuel 10:34, 16 November 2011 (UTC)

december 2011 ABS PLA shape 3mm PLA 2.77 and 3.05 mm ?kg ???kg ?? - ??g ?? Ordered red, black and green PLA plus a bit of white ABS. ABS is untested so far but looks fine.

Green PLA had some black lumps (twice in 500 grams), probably ABS as increasing temperature to 250 degrees melted everything and unclogged the nozzle. The red is fair on spool but becomes shiny and gets a deeper color once extruded, very nice.

Diameter of the 3mm PLA is between 2.77 and 3.05 mm. Its possible to correct for this diameter but very large prints (full trays) might become an issue as the diameter might change too much.

Red and green came on a spool, black and white did not but were neatly bundled. --Cyberwizzard 20:50, 28 December 2011 (UTC)

january 2012 PLA shape 3mm 2.84x3.01-3.04 mm ??kg ???kg ??/kg - ? ?? Ordered yellow PLA from them in mid 2011 and january 2012. The lots look and feel quite different, the most recent is significantly less intense in color (faint colors have also been described by DeuxVis in his review) .

The first lot from 2011 was a real pleasure in printing and gorgeous yellow. The latest roll (2.7 Kg) bears a sticker from Shenzen Esun Industrial Co. www.brighten.net item 300-Y, batch 20111020 Filament near the start of the roll measures 2.84 x 3.01 - 3.04 mm, oval section. I dialed in a diameter of 2.90 in Slic3r and Skeinforge. Printing: very similar experience to that described above by DeuxVis, Prints best around 184 C, at 200C is too liquid and prone to generate errors in flat solid areas . I've printed perimeters down to 0.155 mm layer height (0.5 mm nozzle), but small parts become quite brittle and break easily when printed with such layer heights. Update 20120212: After more extensive testing: this stuff is really brittle and delaminates way too easily. Useless. I'll try to get a refund, but I wouldn't bet on it. Will post a pic.

--Lanthan 14:30, 12 January 2012 (UTC)

june/july 2012 PLA shape 1.75mm Ymm 1kg ???kg ?/kg - ?? 7 Seems good so far, I hope the quality of his supplier is improving for all the filaments :) --Emmanuel 09:04, 18 July 2012 (UTC)

I transferred the coil from the supplied spool to another I have, and I don't know why, but the part of the spool that was near the inner of the spool have exploded in multiple points. Like if it didn't like to be spooled to a bigger radius : -Emmanuel 17:38, 21 July 2012

Reprapworld respooled 175.jpgEprapworld respooled 175 2.jpgReprapworld respooled 175 3.jpgReprapworld respooled 175 4.jpg

Beside that it still print good, next time I will leave it on it's original spool. -Emmanuel 17:00, 27 July 2012.

aug 2012 PLA Round/Round 1,75mm 1,72 - 1,75 1kg, 3*2,3kg same 15-20€/kg - France 13,35€ (Fedex) 8 Not tried yet the blue/red/yellow, but the black is fine (I ordered more to compare) :)

Reprapworld black1kg.jpg Reprapworld-black-print.jpg Reprapworld-black-print2.jpg

were printed on my eMaker Huxley --Emmanuel 17:49, 26 August 2012 (UTC)

New entry
Date Material(s) Shape/Delivered Thickness (mm) Measured thickness (mm) Quantity Delivered amount Costs (kg) Costs (Meter) Destination & shipping costs Rating 0-10 Additional notes & Signed by