Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Darwin STL files

Posted by randomdude 
Darwin STL files
April 13, 2007 09:52PM
Hi people. I'm looking to get involved in RepRap, and the fist step is making Darwin, I guess. Since I'm a student at an UK University, I figure I can talk them in to fabbing the parts I need - but I can't find the plans I need to fab said parts (stl files, I think?) on the wiki. Can anyone point me to them? I'll stick them on the wiki, if thats a good idea.
Also - you seem to have a decent guide to putting the thing together. Is it worth me documenting anything as I follow it?
Re: Darwin STL files
April 14, 2007 12:31AM
Please join Reprappers if you are so inclined. You can find Adrian Bowyer on the list of people and email him asking to be added to the list. Your experiences are welcomed.
April 14, 2007 12:39AM
Um ... random's already on that list. :-)
April 14, 2007 01:24AM
More documentation is better. If you find holes in our docs, let someone with write-permission to the wiki know, or ask for write-permission yourself, if you feen gung-ho.

I don't think the STL files are up yet, you may need to bug ed for them.
April 14, 2007 02:25AM
Doh! I guess I didn't check sad smiley but I have had my head in code and prototyping.. look for a post from me in contributors. I'm in that pseudo developer mode smiling smiley
April 14, 2007 09:37AM
Thats the other thing I was going to mention - Can I have access to post there?
I was going to post in the PIC programemr thread saying pretty much the same thing that you did, about integrating into the IOBox module. a few digital lines and a few lines that are settable to arbitrary voltages, which is all programmed under software, would be a really neat soloution and would scale nicely to other interfaces - I'm thinking that once 'pcb fab' is running, it'd be good to have designs using small CPLD's, which are programmed through JTAG, which would be a doddle to support with the same hardware.