Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

STL file -> image file?

Posted by captchinland 
STL file -> image file?
December 30, 2011 03:41AM
Hi all,

I'm new to the RepRap community (just got my Prusa Mendel printing), and wasn't able to find anywhere else to ask a question on STL files. I have several hundred STL files I've downloaded/created, and wanted to quickly create images for all of them (in either JPG, GIF, PNG, etc) . Are there any programs that can convert these to images at the command line?

I know I can manually open up each file in a number of programs to take a screenshot, but that seems too time consuming.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Re: STL file -> image file?
December 30, 2011 05:05AM
[thingiverse.com] does that, their website automagically generate preview images from uploaded STLs.

Search in their blog/faq how they do it or ask them.
December 30, 2011 06:35AM
It was Tony Buser who made thingiview while he was working on cloudscad. You can find the source code on github: [github.com] I guess you could hack it, or add a php script or something to cycle through a lot of files, don't have an idea for how to take pictures though.

You might be able to do it in openscad as well. Compile a list of all the stl files, cycle through them with the openscad animation variable and dump pictures along the way? Just an idea, don't know if it'd work.

--
-Nudel
Blog with RepRap Comic
December 30, 2011 08:19AM
try openscad
[www.openscad.org]

you can script it from command line.

...eric
December 30, 2011 10:27AM
or try this:

[www.guitar-list.com]

it works fine for me.
December 30, 2011 04:07PM
Thanks everyone!

Eric1000,

What are the mechanics of the 'output to image' in SCAD at the command line?

I can write a simple script to open an STL: import_stl( 'samplefile.stl');