Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

About to start, but where...

Posted by sgtwilko 
About to start, but where...
May 05, 2008 09:41AM
Hiya,

I'm one of the thousands introduced to this project from Slashdot at the start of April and I'm about to start to build a Reprap beginning with the electronics (as I've got several years of experience with diy electronics).

I would like to use the Arduino electronics as this seems more flexible and as it's been chosen as the future of Reprap. The problem I'm having is that the parts lister seems to be a little awkward to use to find out what I need if I'm building a Reprap without PICs.

Can someone direct me to the correct options to be able to buy the components I require?

I am also planning on buying the PCBs from RRRF (http://store.rrrf.org/product_info.php?cPath=21&products_id=57), but as I've noticed at least 4 or more PCBs on the blogs as having been revised, will I be buying something that is already out of date?

Many thanks in advance.

Ian.
Re: About to start, but where...
May 12, 2008 01:18PM
Hey Ian, I had the same problem initially, but I'm now at the point where my stepper driver boards are done and spinning motors, and I'm just waiting for some plastic parts. What I did was clicked the "Darwin" item, saw what it contained, and then replicated it on the first page. If you click the Arduino electronics, you really only need one of each of the other parts, except of course Darwin. Try it out a couple times, it'll start to make more sense. I also opted to not buy any of the tools mail order, as I have them or can get them locally.

I agree though, a single click for the Arduino would be helpful, but keep in mind, this whole things is still experimental. Seems like the parts lister is down at the moment too, I got a Fatal error: Class 'CacheBot' not found in ... from it right now.