Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Interested in building a RepRap, have machine shop access

Posted by Crashmaxx 
Hello everyone!

I found this project on the Fab@Home site and thought this looked a lot more like I wanted and a lot cheaper. I am a Mechanical Engineering student currently working at a small military prototyping company. We have a full machine shop with CNC and a waterjet. I am also a RC hobbyist in my spare time and a Linux user using Ubuntu as my main system.

I was wondering how fast and accurately these can make parts and if they would be good enough grade for RC models. My main dream would be to be able not only to make a few RC parts but a whole model with this.

I am very interested in building a RepRap and I would like some help. Does anyone have a full list of off the shelf parts with prices and links to buy the parts? And a good list of the custom parts with SolidWorks or similar models. I'd like to order all the electronics and such right away and then look into making the rest of the parts. I already have a great 12v 10amp power supply for my chargers so that would be a non issue. And I am running Ubuntu on both my Desktop and laptop which both have serial ports so again another non issue. Plus I can solder pretty good and understand basic electronics so that shouldn't be too challenging.

As far as the custom parts go, Obviously you want to make then with the RepRap which is awesome, but not currently viable. I can CNC them out of plastic but I would prefer to use aluminum and to waterjet them. How much of the parts can be reduced to 2D profiles of any thickness for the majority or any part of them? And how much milling or CNC would I need for the rest?

I am looking to make the custom parts at our shop out of 6061 aluminum as cheaply and easily as possible.I would also be happy to make batches of parts an sell them at very good prices to the community. My company may even be interested in being a supplier of parts.