Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Wiring

Posted by jininjin 
Wiring
February 27, 2012 09:21PM
I am new to this and anything to do with electronics.....What are people using for wiring? Is there any tips for making the wiring as neat as possible any pre-made wires like this? [www.mcmaster.com] or [www.mcmaster.com]
Re: Wiring
February 28, 2012 12:03AM
Hi, well there a lots of options of course. I got "24 awg stranded wire" from ebay ( seller: 1michiganger), and i like it a lot, great quality.
For making the wires look neat: search for "braided expandable sleeving" for the reprap 1/8" and 1/4" is great stuff. Get some shrinktube to finish it. For tips on sleeving search on "psu sleeving" on a search engine.

Good luck!
February 28, 2012 01:17AM
Similar to north90ty, I use 22 awg stranded for motor and heater wiring (I bought several colors from Fry's, but you can get it anywhere) and 24 awg stranded for fans, endstops, and thermistors. I use a larger gauge wire for the heated bed. To keep everything tidy I use spiral cut wire wrap, but expandable sleeving would probably look nicer.

Help improve the RepRap wiki!
Just click "Edit" in the top-right corner of the page and start typing.
Anyone can edit the wiki!
rcs
February 28, 2012 04:28AM
It might be a good idea to keep the motor wires apart from the end stops and thermistors to avoid any cross talk between them.
February 28, 2012 05:09AM
I agree that heatshrink tubing with braiding can make your wiring look great, I've been doing it myself on my second printer, a MendelMax:

[www.flickr.com]
[www.flickr.com]

It is relatively inexpensive but can be time consuming to remove connectors, heatshrink and braid, then redo the connectors.
It takes no time at all if your motors come without connectors. You can also slip 6mm tubing and braiding over 2 and 3 pin connectors without removal.
February 28, 2012 05:59AM