Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Reprap plastic parts

Posted by Anonymous User 
Anonymous User
Reprap plastic parts
April 18, 2007 02:16PM
I have recently become very interested in the project and what it can do. However, I am a student on a limited money and time budget with little regular access to tools for fabrication. I am curious as to whether rappers are selling the plastic parts that ordinarilly the bootstrapper would be making? How much would such a kit be?
Re: Reprap plastic parts
April 18, 2007 02:29PM
hey,

welcome to the project. honestly thats something i havent really looked into. i've just assumed that once i get mine working, i'll just start printing off parts for whoever wants them.

really, the plastic parts are ridiculously cheap... all the parts for the machine are likely to cost <$20 (if that... could be as low as $10) for raw materials. i know once i get mine, i'll be selling them for essentially cost since i wont have to do any *real* work to make them.

the real costs involved are from things like electronics and motors. still, we're looking at under $400 for everything. stuff should be ready to go Real Soon Now (tm) winking smiley
April 18, 2007 02:57PM
If you are as broke as most students I know you may want to look at Tommelise, a RepRap spinoff project and a cheaper alternative to Darwin.

[www.3DReplicators.com]

It's less sophisticated than Darwin and runs a lot slower, but it's dirt cheap and you can build it with hand tools that you can beg or borrow.
Anonymous User
April 18, 2007 03:21PM
Thanks for the quick replies and the Tommy reference. But, if you factor in the cost of both the Tommy and Reprap plus the tools to build it (goodness, I dont have any woodworking tools at all), I may spend much more time and money than its worth.