Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Did anyone have relatively "instant" success with kits

Posted by Bob hewson 
Did anyone have relatively "instant" success with kits
March 08, 2012 08:58PM
Did anyone have relatively "instant" success with kits?

I am a beginner and an "old timer" who became facinated by 3D printing a couple of years ago. I recently decided to make the plunge and opted for a full kit to build a PrusaMendel. I have received my hardware/electronics/extruder kit and am awaiting my plastic parts to begin construction/assembly.

To prepare I have been reading a lot of info from the forum and seems there are a lot of problem oriented topics, mainly to do with getting things running and plastic to flow on command.

Have I bitten of more than I may be able to handle, or do most of you have machines that ran well from the start with few major problems?

Thanks,

Bob
Re: Did anyone have relatively "instant" success with kits
March 08, 2012 09:23PM
If you purchased a reputable hotend (J-head or Makergear or Adrians) you should have very little issue with plastic flow. The firmware could slow you down as it does for a lot of people but there is a lot of help available as long as you are able to ask concise questions (not just "it does not work, need help" as so many people do).

From my experience 50% of issues are hotend related, 25% are software and the rest are hardware.

FFF Settings Calculator Gcode post processors Geometric Object Deposition Tool Blog
Tantillus.org Mini Printable Lathe How NOT to install a Pololu driver
March 08, 2012 09:52PM
Getting my head around the firmware was the biggest problem for me as my kit the firmware wasn't set up to match the belts' gears and hobbed bolt

March 09, 2012 12:16AM