Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Electronics Questions

Posted by Mascroge 
Electronics Questions
March 21, 2012 09:14PM
Hi,
I need some help deciding on the best electronics for a Prusa Mendel V2,I know ramps is the best but also the most expensive and I would like to save some money. The other electronics I was looking at were Sanguinololu and Gen 6/7. However I have come a across a new cheap board called Azteeg X1 which has further muddied the picture.

I am looking for the best bang for the buck, also I will be ordering it pre-assembled as I have very little soldering experience.

Thanks for your help.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/21/2012 11:27PM by Mascroge.
Re: Electronics Questions
March 22, 2012 05:19AM
Never heard of the Azteeg, and since it's not widely used, you're more on your own regarding support. It looks like a SMD Sanguinololu though, and it even has a fuse.

I can personally recommend Sanguinololu, it's working very well, (though I do wish I opted for RAMPS for future expandability). It's also a very simple and fun soldering project for beginners, if you have some experience and a decent iron.

--
-Nudel
Blog with RepRap Comic
March 22, 2012 08:20AM
Reprapworld has a cheap preassembled sanguinololu currently. Bought one, but not tested yet. You need to add the 4 stepper drivers (stepsticks to stay cheap).

Most of my technical comments should be correct, but is THIS one ?
Anyway, as a rule of thumb, always double check what people write.
March 22, 2012 10:33AM
You can buy a Sanguinololu DIY kit with four Pololus for a bit less than the cost of Azteeg, you can save some bucks by doing the soldering.
March 22, 2012 10:47AM

You can buy a Sanguinololu DIY kit with four Pololus for a bit less than the cost of Azteeg

Wow! sometimes the posts here read like something Douglas Adams would write about an intergalactic supermarket smiling smiley

Cheers,
Robin.
VDX
March 22, 2012 11:16AM