Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Jan's Hot End MK-II

Posted by IceMan 
Jan's Hot End MK-II
March 30, 2012 11:01AM
Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to this, but have been reading a lot on this forum and ended up making my own printer based on the Wolfstrap.
I have also made all my hot ends from scratch and they work quite well.
Just made a new small version without a fan and it is working very well on my machine.
Just thought I like to share my design with you. It is the way I make the brass nozzle/barrell attach to the PTFE that is the secret here I think.
I don't use threads as that is a lost course. Instead I make grooves in the rod which is pressed into the PTFE. Very tight fit and then to really secure it I press a copper pipe onto the PTFE.
I am very happy with this design and if anyone tries it please let me know how you go.
To see more details I have made up a blog/site for you to look at. ( My Blog )
What I have tried to do is to make a hot end without any expensive and specialized tools, such as a lathe.
This way most of you should be able to make it. It is only around 50mm long.
If you do make it please let me know how it performs.

All the best

Jan
MyBlog
Re: Jan's Hot End MK-II
March 30, 2012 11:26AM
Thanks for sharing the info! I have been having trouble with my hot end and would like to eventually build my own so this will help.
Did you use silver solder for the heat sink?
March 30, 2012 12:55PM
No, I just use stock standard materials.
So far working great.
Normal solder that you can get anywhere.
Regards
Jan
March 30, 2012 03:35PM
I can't find your hot end on your blog. Can you post a direct link?
March 30, 2012 04:07PM
March 30, 2012 05:05PM
Interesting design. How did you machine the brass rod?
March 30, 2012 09:49PM
lincomatic Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Interesting design. How did you machine the brass
> rod?

Hi,
The process of making each part is explained under my first hot end design.