Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Is this a dumb idea?

Posted by ksmith5135 
Is this a dumb idea?
February 21, 2010 01:35PM
I have been looking around at various prototyping and manufacturing equipment and they all seem to have some things in common. A number of stepper motors are driving a cutter/printer/extruder head of some kind. I wondered why we have to put a motherboard and stepper motor controlers on each machine.

If there was a Mendel in my office, a 3 axis plasma cutter and a 3 axis mill in my garage and possibly a powder printer as well, why couldn't a single set of control electronics be carried around and plugged into each of them? the software would have to be able to handle various different configurations but that doesn't seem insurmountable. It would also have to have connections for various accessories, from bed heaters to oil pumps for cooling cutter heads for the different machines

Not being an engineer I don't know the issues involved in creating stepper drivers that could handle widely varying motor sizes. On first glance it doesn't seem that this would be impossible and might have some advantages for someone with multiple machines.

Those with more knowledge may now feel free to mock me for my ignorance. :-)
Re: Is this a dumb idea?
February 21, 2010 02:32PM
> Not being an engineer I don't know the issues
> involved in creating stepper drivers that could
> handle widely varying motor sizes. On first
> glance it doesn't seem that this would be
> impossible and might have some advantages for
> someone with multiple machines.

Even if expensive to have all that stepper motors, it makes possible to have it working, because if we do as you suggest, we would have such a complex system that would not work for sure.

Like if you have at your kitchen a machine that would do everything instead of many you have. If that only one breaks, you would be in problems... but now if just one breaks, you can keep working with others.