Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Wanting to do Mendal for my Dissertation but can't think of any new ideas, any suggestions?

Posted by RepRap_GCALman 
I am a 4th year Electronic student at Caledonian University. I was introduced to the Mendel by my cousin and think the 3D printer a great Idea for a project but can't think of any new improvements that haven’t already been done i.e. changing the bed to glass, using a glass nozzle, making a heated box for the Mendel to allow for faster printing, creating a bigger bed.

I have had one idea but not really sure if it will be feasible. 3D camera's are now coming out which would be a great addition to printer but I don’t think this idea would work.

Any suggestion would be very usefully, even if you know anyone who needs help with a current improvement to the Mendel please get in touch.
Something I've been wanting to do for a while is getting a height probe to measure the surface profile of the bed. Getting this extruder height just right is critical. Some people have made a probe for the makerbot bed (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4093), to set the bed height. Given that our bed is larger, and therefore more likely to have high and low spots. If we could get a surface profile, we move all three axes simultaneously to always ensure it’s just right.
Rhys: Wouldn't the objects come out slightly malformed this way? Imho, using a raft circumvents the problem in a better way, in the case where you can't make a level bed.

RepRap_GCALman: From the top of my head: I'd love to control my RepRap(s) via LAN/ethernet. And more ways to detect a hardware or software malfunction and stop the printer automatically would also be a great addition.

--
-Nudel
Blog with RepRap Comic
Yeah I like Nudel's idea of ways to stop the machine if there's a fault. Some users leave their machine unattended and go to work, but this kinda scares me, as i don't want to burn down my apartment.