Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Reprappro Huxley, Y motor, heatbed + extruder issues

Posted by Rui.in.Roskill 
Reprappro Huxley, Y motor, heatbed + extruder issues
April 23, 2012 11:20PM
Hello, Rui here from Auckland, New Zealand.

I've recently put together a reprappro huxley which I bought the parts from the reprappro website. It came with the pre-soldered and supposedly pre-programmed Sanguinololu electronics board.

I've wired it up correctly - i believe, installed the pronterface software (the pre-packed version, instead of the phython installations version from the github site); the power seems to be going through as the fan is going and the software recieves the machine.. but I am currently experiencing these problems (i have no prior experience with electronics so all of this is first time)

1. the Y motor is going in the same direction whenever I turn click either of the direction buttons on the pronterface interface.
2. the extruder motor is whistling and clicking with no movement. I've read somewhere that it may be because the motor is not receiving enough voltage and it may have something to do with turning the potentiometer on the electronics board, but I'm not sure how to do it correctly.
3. the heatbed first worked and was heating up the platform; giving the appropriate readings in the software. but when I tried turning the hotend resistor power around and then putting it back, the heatbed stopped working and so did the heatbed thermistor.
4. no response to the hotend thermistor nor is it heating up.

apart from that, the z and x motors seems to be working correctly.

Can anyone write me up a detailed checklist/ know what the problems might be? I'm a bit stumped and will appreciate your help!

Grace and peace,
Rui
Re: Reprappro Huxley, Y motor, heatbed + extruder issues
April 24, 2012 07:19AM
Some fairly detailed answers and pointers