Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help With Hot End Please

Posted by kwdelre 
Help With Hot End Please
April 27, 2012 09:53PM
Hello everyone. I am new to the hobby and have recently built a printer from BotMill's kit. I am able to print really high quality prints, but when skeinforge decides to take the long route with no extrusion, I get a delay when it starts back up and therefor no plastic or sloppy plastic. This is compounded greatly when printing in small areas that keep making the extruder go on and off.

Also, every ten minutes or so the plastic will come out molten and mess the layer up while dragging junk everywhere. This is sooo frustrating!

And to compliment these issues, the hot end will ooze the very moment the extruder stops, depleting its reserve. Please help if you can....I cannot stand to spend another two weeks honing this. thank you!

*extruding at 185c, yellow PLA, Gen 6 electronics, 210 float speed

-Will
Re: Help With Hot End Please
April 28, 2012 05:41PM
Hi Kwdelre,

I seemed to have roughly the same problem as you a month or two ago. I seemed to fix it by a mix of lowering the temperature down just a tad and increasing the amount skeinforge tells the extruder to retract the filament while moving, theoretically sucking in the plastic while moving.

I swapped to using Slic3r round then too, and although it's much simpler than SK, it does the job while you fine tune your settings.

P.S. I've got my retract distance set to 3mm if that's but a starting point for you tongue sticking out smiley

Ollie
April 28, 2012 10:28PM
Thank you for the reply. I may have to try that slic3r program.
In skeinforge are talking about the oozebane setting?
April 29, 2012 04:07AM