Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Relationship between Filament, Extruder Size and Printing…

Posted by tjhj2 
Relationship between Filament, Extruder Size and Printing…
May 06, 2012 07:56PM
Hello All,
Thank you for taking the time to read this and help. The more I read and search the more confused I become.
I am new to 3d printing, but am experienced in traditional CnC (mills and lathes), SolidWorks, and Embedded Systems.

Here is the question, I am looking at machines/kits to buy and cannot seem to figure out what are the advantages/disadvantages of a smaller extruder nozzle? I see sizes ranging from .30, .35 up to .5 mm.
In my mind the size of the nozzle is a limit feature size, or at least line thickness, but where this is throwing me off is when I look at the software. In either the standard reprap software or in RepSnapper there does not appear to be a setting for nozzle size. What am I missing here? Does it not really matter in that what only matters, is how much filament is feed through the extruder?

How can it figure out how much is bring printed without knowing the nozzle size? For example. Take the exact same amount of filament being pushed through the extruder. A nozzle that is .30 will have much more squish (I don’t know what the proper term is. The amount that squeezes outward versus the amount that is rounded under the nozzle.) than a .50 nozzle. Also if your making a solid layer a .30 nozzle would need to make .30 passes assuming no squish, if a .50 nozzle made .30mm passes part of the line would roll up on to the previous line, instead of being laid exactly next to it.

Along this same line why use 1.5 over 3mm filament, is it that there is more control over how much is being extruded? Is this a limitation of the stepper resolution and gearing?