Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How do you have software control and setup of Advanced Printing Ideas??

Posted by tjhj2 
How do you have software control and setup of Advanced Printing Ideas??
May 07, 2012 12:53PM
Hello all,

Thank you for taking the time to read this and help.
I should say advanced printing ideas to me at least, these may be common for all of you.
I am new to 3d printing, but am experienced in traditional CnC (mills and lathes), SolidWorks, and Embedded Systems.

Here is the question, when performing what I would call advanced printing how do make the software do these things. I am used to solidcam where every toolpath is selected and chosen letting you decide what it is going to do. Neither the reprap software or repsnapper seem to give me any options or control to do this.

Take for example a hollow cube,
There seems to be two approaches to solving the problem of making the top without support.
1. Move the extruder very fast from one side to another, effectively stretching the plastic over it. Although this layer isn’t great it makes enough support for the next layer to be printed making the top.
2. Starting at one edge move the extruder slowly at just the right rate so that it sticks to the line next to it, hanging over open space.

How do you chose what method is used in the software? Or do you not get a choice. I am thinking I am not using the right software.
The first one seems easier but there are times when I can see needng the 2nd, for example a wing off of a box.

Thank you for your time and your help.
Re: How do you have software control and setup of Advanced Printing Ideas??
May 07, 2012 01:12PM
Option 2 is not a real option. (or at least I've never seen it done and don't see how it is plausible)

www.Fablicator.com
May 07, 2012 01:44PM
Once an overhang is greater then 45 degrees and bridging is not possible, you need support.