Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Which is best ABS or PLA for printed parts?

Posted by Dane 
Which is best ABS or PLA for printed parts?
November 01, 2011 12:38AM
Hello everyone,

I am new to 3D printing but have been inspired to build one. I am planning on building a Prusa Mendel and am currently researching parts, suppliers and pricing etc. I live in Australia and have found a person in australia selling printed parts on ebay. The printed parts he is selling are all PLA however every other set of printed parts I have seen advertised are made from ABS with PLA bushings. Is PLA a suitable material for the printed parts of a Prusa? I understand that PLA gets soft when it gets warm (not sure what temperature specifically), would this be an issue for motor mounts etc?

Any advice would be appreciated.
Cheers,
Dane.
Re: Which is best ABS or PLA for printed parts?
November 01, 2011 12:40AM
November 01, 2011 12:42AM
Depends on a lot of factors. I would personally never recommend PLA for anything attached to the motors or near the hot end. I tend to run the motors closer to their rated current (and therefore around the temperature PLA softens). If you are willing to keep the motors cool by reducing their power output, PLA is a reasonable material choice.

There are a lot of PLA repraps out there that work perfectly fine, so don't let me discourage you too much.

www.Fablicator.com
November 01, 2011 04:27PM
Thanks for your responses. Wow, what a helpful community! I posted a question and had two responces within 4 minutes :-)
Thank you, I look forward to becoming more involved.
November 01, 2011 06:36PM
I'm with Andrew Diehl

I can speak for other hot end assemblies, but I don't see PLA printed parts being a problem with the Makergear Hot End Pack. Their GrooveMount keeps the hot parts a good distance away from the x-carriage and wades extruder body.