Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Looking for a source of Stepper Motors for ramps electronics

Posted by fredted1234 
Looking for a source of Stepper Motors for ramps electronics
March 19, 2012 08:00AM
Hi I am new to reprap, but am in the middle of building a mendel prusa machine, I want it to be as accurate as possible, so I plan to use the ramps electronics with 2.5 belts. But I dont know what motors to buy yet? I was looking at the steppers in Makergear which i think is the most accurate machine you can buy, and I think they are 0.9 degree steppers is this the best option for me?? if anyone has any sudjestions of where is could buy these in or near the uk, as I dont want to pay a fortune on electronics?
Or any other sudjestions of parts that will make this machine more accurate?
thanks
Re: Looking for a source of Stepper Motors for ramps electronics
March 19, 2012 08:42AM
There's no visible/proven benefit to need for 0.9 degree steppers when we're using 16th microstepping, so 1.8 degree steppers is perfectly fine, as well as cheaper.

You might be able to find a good deal on steppers from ebay, I personally prefer to use a RepRap vendor so I know the motors will be powerful enough.

XYZ printers is located in the Netherlands, and I have good experience with them.
Lulzbot in USA also have a good reputation.

Edit: See comment by Viktor

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/19/2012 09:44AM by Nudel.

--
-Nudel
Blog with RepRap Comic
VDX
March 19, 2012 09:04AM
... the positioning error of a stepper is specified in fractures of a single full-step, regardles which microstepping resoulution you use, as it's the 'elasticity' of the magnetic field between two fullstep-positions.

So a 0.9-deg stepper will have better positioning accuracy than a 1.8-deg one ... but with the overall accuracy of the mechanics and the extruded material it's not really needed.

But it will be of interest, when replacing the extruder by e.g. a dremel or laserhead ...

Viktor