Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ready to get my first printer - have a couple questions

Posted by GITRDUN 
Ready to get my first printer - have a couple questions
March 23, 2012 10:39PM
I am ready to get into 3d printing. I am a CNC programmer with 20 years experience and also use CAD/CAM software so i understand the mechanics and automation of how this all works. But i have some questions before i spend my money.

I am leaning towards the RepRap Prusa model or Makerbot Thingomatic. I want to be able to print with high accuracy, printing speed isnt really important to me.

I have noticed that alot of the pics ive seen of printed parts look like a stack of spaghetti noodles glued together. Is this the best finish that can be printed from the cheaper models? Can you print a part with a flat surface on top and sides or is the spaghetti look just the nature of the beast?

How accurate can the print be made dimension wise? Can you hold a tolerence of say +/- .005" or is that unrealistic for these type models?
Re: Ready to get my first printer - have a couple questions
March 23, 2012 10:58PM
This is the most accurate print I have seen 0.01 layer height
March 23, 2012 11:22PM
Aha. Thats the type of finish quality i am looking for. 85megs of G-code is not that large for mold making and 3d machining. So is that just a standard Prusa model or is that a modified model? I have done alot of reading but so much of this hobby seems to be self made or heavily modified machines, its hard to know whats what.
March 23, 2012 11:47PM
I own both a Thing-O-Matic and a Prusa Mendel. See the 3d printing section on my blog, linked below, for many posts on the build process for both as well as many photos and videos of the prints and their quality..

If you want to get printing right away, the MakerBot is the way to go.

If you want to tinker and tweak, the Prusa is the way to go.