Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Where does the overall cost come from?

Posted by bobasp1 
Where does the overall cost come from?
March 29, 2012 01:55PM
This has been bugging me for a while now. I've been wanting to make a Prusa for a few months now, but the kit prices seem ridiculously high. The University I'm at will allow me to print off the required parts for the cost of the filament (or a fraction of the cost), but the only other things that would drive up the cost would be the motors, micro controllers, and heat pad.

Is there just a huge mark up on these kits or is there something I'm missing here?

Thanks
I'm not an expert here is what I know
1.guys got to make a living(your paying for the easy route and support when you buy an assembled machine or a kit)
2.the cheapest non-shady kit I have seen comes from here [printrbot.com] but they have a huge back log of kickstarter rewards that they need to ship first so you may be waiting a while
3.in my build I'm cutting the cost of electronics by using an arduino uno I already had and loading the teacup firmware on it
4.this site may also help to cut costs [www.thefrankes.com] especially with the link to cheap motors
Re: Where does the overall cost come from?
March 29, 2012 02:05PM
Why don't you cost it yourself and see what number you get.
If you are only making one machine, sourcing all the parts from different suppliers can easily add up to the cost of a kit. Unless you have only seen very expensive kit prices?

What's your budget? and do you need everything apart from the plastic parts?

Can you get a hot-end made? if not a good quality one will cost about £40

[richrap.blogspot.com]
March 29, 2012 02:27PM