Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ok, I've been bitten...

Posted by HaniC 
Ok, I've been bitten...
May 20, 2012 11:49AM
...by the DIY bug again grinning smiley I hate when this happens - I'm browsing the net, minding my own business, then come across something really cool and interesting and now have no choice but to make one! Grrr

3d printing in general is not new to me and I have used rapid prototyping houses in the past as part of my day job and also used the services of shapeways.com for hobbies. What I didn't really know about was the concept of RepRap and just how accessible and relatively affordable these machines are now. I mean you can have one at home now?eye popping smiley

A little background
A RepRap will allow me to quickly prototype enclosures for my products and be able to spot things early in the overall design (not to mention all the cool things I can create and build at home!!). Im an Electronic Engineer by day and have no real issue with the mechanical or electronic aspect of the build.

My Goal
- I want to build a reprap that ideally is very compact as space is limited and has a print envelope of preferably 200mm x 200mm x 200mm but will trade this off for overall size. The printrbot/Wallace look to have the perfect combination of print area vs overall size BUT I've been reading mixed reviews in terms of stability issues leading to poor print quality. A Huxley seems great if I could get just a little more from the print envelope.

- It needs to be capable of printing decent quality prints (I know how long is a piece of string... but you know what I mean - fairly good prints)

- I want to build it for under $400. If that means self sourcing all parts, hand building electronics (I don't really have the time to reinvent the wheel here to bring cost down for now), exchanging my electronic knowledge/engineering services for plastics etc etc

Advice sought after