Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How to calculate 3D printed cost

Posted by epareja 
How to calculate 3D printed cost
May 29, 2012 02:39PM
Hello,

I'm new to this and I would like to setup a commercial 3d printing service here in the US but I would like to know how to calculate the costs for this type of service.

I read here in this forum that the 1Kg ABS filament weighted 700g or so. It seemed weird for me but I want to confirm that with you the experts!

When I go to the online printing services as Sculpteo or Materialise, they calculate the volume of my 3d piece in cm3 but I've also read that the infill uses very less material than the outline.

Thank you very much and sorry if those are dumb questions.

Ernesto Pareja

dcctrains.netne.net
Re: How to calculate 3D printed cost
May 29, 2012 03:07PM
1 kg of ABS should weigh 1 kg. Otherwise it's false advertising. Online 3D printing services usually produce either solid parts or ones with a fixed infill amount. For home 3D printing you can choose the infill density based on how strong you need the part, which can dramatically reduce the amount of filament needed. When you run the .stl file through a slicing program, most will tell you how much filament will be used.

Help improve the RepRap wiki!
Just click "Edit" in the top-right corner of the page and start typing.
Anyone can edit the wiki!
May 29, 2012 03:24PM
Thank you Cameron!

So if 1K and ABS density of 1.04 g/cm3 then I'll have

1000g / 1.04g/cm3 = 961.5cm3 per 1K of ABS extruded material.
If 1K of ABS cost about US$45 then I'll have

cost per cm3 = $45 / 961.5 = $0.047 / cm3

Is this calculation ok?

Thank you in advance!

Ernesto Pareja
May 30, 2012 05:32PM
Cura will calculate this for you...
May 30, 2012 06:15PM
Thank you WildBill,