Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Calibration problem?

Posted by MrBlack 
Calibration problem?
May 30, 2012 06:25PM
Dear Community,

I'm almost finished with this printer I've been working on for about 11 months, but I'm having a problem.

I simply can't get my prints to come out correct or symmetrical, even though I've used a nickel calibration test to get just about as correct of calibration as I can.

I'm hoping that you have some suggestions: Here are some pictures of the problem:

Here's the Nickel calibration test (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:11261) I've been using to try to calibrate my X, Y, and Z axes.

Below are the photos of what the printer is doing, even though my measurements are calibrated seemingly as far as I can calibrate them within reasonable measuring error:

It appears that it's both not entirely symmetrical (though part of that is simply flashing) and that it's leaving a space between some of the extruded filament section.

Also, I'm trying to make a Star Wars Imperial emblem (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:17155) as a test print for my Slic3r settings, and it keeps coming out with the same issues as the calibration print (photos below)

Same thing: not entirely symmetrical (like it's supposed to be) and still has space between the sections where the printer extrudes in different ways.

I'm running a Botmill Axis 2.1 printer (Mendel) with a Wade's geared extruder that features a .35mm nozzle from MakerGear.
I've also tested my extruder to within my capacity for measurement error, and it seems to be pretty close to precisely extruding 5mm of plastic when I tell it to through Pronterface.

All help will be greatly appreciated as I'm so close to being finished after such a long fight (both with Botmill and the printer). . . at least I think. . .I just want this thing to work and be able to make some nice, symmetrical prints.