RepRap Ramps 1.3 Electronics
June 01, 2012 08:21AM
Hi i am very new to this and recieved my unassembled electronics from xyz printers just a few weeks ago, I am not 100% sure of a few things?
I have attached photos of the electronics, would anyone be able to point out if i went wrong anywhere?
I do know that I am missing 2 female connectors that i still have to buy.
But i was left with a spare diode, that im sure is for D2 but the instructions on wiki tell me not to put it in....?
I also am not sure if the two resettable fuses, and the orange capacitor infron of them are in the right way around ?

The second topic was for the assembly of the mechanical enstops. I have soldered them up somewhat, but am not sure where the resistor goes, Can anyone tell me?

After im finished the electronics, i will be using an old pc power supply to plug in the unit with the endstops, polulus, arduinos, and motors attached.
Does anyone have any precautionary tips for me? I dont want to blow anything
I dont have an extruder yet, but will be able to test the motors etc.. am i right?

Thanks for any help provided
Attachments:
open | download - DSC01540 copy.jpg (481.3 KB)
open | download - DSC01541 copy.jpg (580.1 KB)
open | download - DSC01542 copy.jpg (578.1 KB)
open | download - DSC01543 copy.jpg (462 KB)
Re: RepRap Ramps 1.3 Electronics
June 01, 2012 08:44AM
You're missing D1, not D2. D1 should normally be installed unless you are using a high supply voltage. It allows the mega to be powered from the RAMPS, making standalone operation possible using SDRAMPs. Without that diode, you can use up to 35V - redesign your heaters to suit - for more torque, but you need a separate 5V supply for the Mega. Normally this is the USB supply but that's not available when running standalone.

Short version, install D1.

The PTC fuses are unpolarised, install them either way. The same is true for C4 but not the other capacitors on the board.