Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I'm about to begin...

Posted by mcbobbo 
I'm about to begin...
November 09, 2012 11:57AM
Hello everyone. I'm Bob. I'm totally new to all of this, and thanks to a well-timed quarterly bonus, I'm about to dive in head first! Before I start shelling out the cash, I thought I'd see what advice the community may have...

1) I'm considering the Mendelcraft.com Mendel Prusa 12 x 12 XL kit.

Anyone used it? Anything else I should consider?

I realize that the 12 x 12 prints are ambitious, but I'm thinking that it can do small prints equally well as large ones, so I can start small and work my way up to the big stuff.

I think I read on someone's blog that they were really happy with it, but Google is failing me today...

2) Materials? I'm in Texas, in the US, and was wondering if anyone had any tips for good 'first timer' materials? I'm thinking ABS might be more useful, because of the water issue, so I think I'll grab that in a couple different colors.

Any vendors to recommend me?

3) Tips?

If you could go back in time and tell yourself one thing, what would that be? smiling smiley

Thanks all for your time. Your words here will probably save me hours of headache.
Re: I'm about to begin...
November 09, 2012 12:29PM
The one concern I have is the threaded rod. As you make the rods longer, you should also make them thicker to avoid flexing issues. This design may still be fine, it's not that much bigger, but there comes a point where it's hard to get accurate prints because your frame itself starts flexing as the machine moves.
November 09, 2012 12:32PM
Filament: Online Filament has good stuff at a fair price. [www.onlinefilament.com]
Makerbot filament is also good and they have great colors not seen at other vendors.
You really just need a spool or two in the beginning. Get a PLA and an ABS.