Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cartesian Concern ... Mendel Mania?

Posted by SydneyDesigner 
Cartesian Concern ... Mendel Mania?
June 12, 2012 08:20PM
First off, the title is just a teaser to jiggle our brain cells to discuss what I believe is a serious question. So absolutely no "Mendelian offence" intended to anyone

I've been lurking in the Reprap and Ultimaker forums for nearly a year and am very impressed by both communities (I realise there is some overlap). I don't have a 3D printer yet, so I can't contribute anything particularly technical just now. But I am an engineer and I would like to contribute by triggering this discussion amongst the Reprap community. I am really interested to hear the response because I am genuinely concerned by this.

My basic question is this:

Why is there so little about moving-Z-platform designs in the Reprap Forums? (Moving-Y-platform Mendel designs seem to dominate.)

Darwin is of course an early example of moving-Z-platform design. Ultimaker is a more recent example which seems to be achieving good results (with the fantastic help of the Ultimaker community), so I presume there are no insurmountable technical blocks. I understand that Ultimaker grew out of Reprap and has a Creative Commons Licence ( [reprap.org] ), so I presume no licencing issues.

It seems that Ultimaker demonstrates that moving-z-platform concepts are alive and kicking. So why don't we see more about them on the Reprap Forums? Has there been a parting of the ways?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/12/2012 08:27PM by SydneyDesigner.
Re: Cartesian Concern ... Mendel Mania?
June 12, 2012 08:31PM
June 12, 2012 08:50PM
What the ultimaker design and several other newer designs do is make the X and Y steppers stationary, this makes a moving Z axis make a lot more sense. Even more when coupled with a Bowden style extruder.
I think a lot of the newer designs are likely to go the same way.