Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Software used to design printers?

Posted by Caanon 
Software used to design printers?
June 14, 2012 11:04PM
There's a ton of software out there that helps you create the objects you want to print out (Sketchup, 123D, Tinkercad), but I can't find much information on the software used to design a 3D printer itself. I've heard of SolidEdge, but that seems like it may be overkill for something like this. What software would you use if you wanted to design a RepRap (or any other 3d printer)?
Re: Software used to design printers?
June 15, 2012 06:58AM
Many of us prefer OpenSCAD due to its programming nature and simple version control.

Others use commercial packages, various cad software or Blender, but you can use whatever program you like.

--
-Nudel
Blog with RepRap Comic
June 15, 2012 12:07PM
I'm using SketchUp to design my machine... probably a lot more easier options, but I'm a visual artist so it sorta makes more sense + is more synchronous with the way I work than something like OpenSCAD's programming interface.

so really, there might be a bajizzillion ways to design your printer - it might be a matter of finding something that works well with your fluencies and the way you think.
good luck!
June 15, 2012 04:34PM
I recently stumbled upon a Kickstarter project for a 3D printer that used Alibre (www.alibre.com) - [www.b9creations.com]
June 15, 2012 05:29PM
I tried Alibre a couple years back and although it has good capabilities for the price, I found it to be riddled with very frustrating bugs. I vowed never to use it again.