Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Nema 17 with a 4mm shaft? GT2 pulleys have a 5mm bore. Awesome...

Posted by Dorian 
Nema 17 with a 4mm shaft? GT2 pulleys have a 5mm bore. Awesome...
November 10, 2013 06:58PM
All,

I'm in the process of building a prusa i3 using a single sheet aluminum frame. So far it's been a comedy of errors but that's cool because that's all part of the learning process. My latest hiccup is that I purchased 5 awesome Nema 17 motors but they have a 4mm shaft rather than the typical 5mm shaft. This poses a problem because every GT2 pulley that I can find has a 5mm bore. I'm not a savvy mechanic so please forgive my ignorance. Is it cool to torque the 5mm bore pulleys onto this shaft? Will it cause problems? Essentially I need to know where to go from here.

Thanks in advance
Re: Nema 17 with a 4mm shaft? GT2 pulleys have a 5mm bore. Awesome...
November 10, 2013 08:40PM
One thing I'd worry about is the pulleys rotating elliptically since the shaft is not centered in them. You could try to shim them with something thin like perhaps aluminum foil.

If that doesn't work, go here and buy 4mm bore pulleys: https://sdp-si.com

For plastic pulleys, I only see them in sizes up to 16 grooves (part number# A 6L51M016DF0604).. but that should work fine. They make larger ones in aluminum (up to 22 grooves), but they're also twice the price.
November 10, 2013 08:57PM