Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Using reprap to "emboss" on paper

Posted by sebif 
Using reprap to "emboss" on paper
December 07, 2013 10:13AM
I'm quite new to all this so please bare with me through my explanation ..

I’m looking into printing single color forms on paper that I want to stand out from the page (both 1, chromatically and 2. slightly out from the plane of the paper) as compared to a regular laser printed page.

For 1 - I hope printing with plastic will give that deep black, if possible slightly shiny color.

For 2 though - it's not clear whether printing multiple layers of plastic is better than rather using it in conjunction with embossing. But how to make the print form to exactly register to the embossed one ? (Register Embossing) e.g. see [mcintoshemboss.com].

My plan for the "height" is to have around 0.1-0.15mm and most forms are just lines, curves no thicker than 1mm(there's quite a bit of text/letters).

What are my options? Where do you think I should start from?

I’m currently looking at RepRap but I’m not sure - would the “resolution” be good enough? and is the general design is best fit for this project?

Any ideas would be hugely helpful.
Thanks!
Re: Using reprap to "emboss" on paper
December 07, 2013 08:14PM
RepRaps can do .1mm layer heights.
They can also print lines that are thinner than 1mm, depending on how small the nozzle is and how slowly you extrude.

Plastic, particularly ABS, tends to shrink as it cools, so when you print it onto a thin, flexible material (like paper) it will either detach and curl up into the air or make the paper wrinkle. That might not be a problem. It's a balancing act between multiple factors like how much plastic you extrude, how well it adheres to the surface, and how stiff the material is. PLA shrinks less than ABS, and allegedly some of the more experimental plastics like t-glass shrink even less.