Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Choosing PLA Filament

Posted by epicepee 
Choosing PLA Filament
January 13, 2014 06:39PM
I'm new to the RepRap world, and am looking for good quality PLA filament. Quality of the resulting part is the most important factor, though price also plays a role. I don't care about appearances. What is the best place to get it?
A2
Re: Choosing PLA Filament
January 13, 2014 06:44PM
Printing Material Suppliers
[reprap.org]
January 13, 2014 08:15PM
Yeah, but that's every supplier that anyone uses. Is there somewhere I can find the best few?
January 14, 2014 02:18AM
[www.faberdashery.co.uk] do some of the best pla available. Not the cheapest but can't fault it
January 14, 2014 07:50AM
I've used [www.justpla.com] and had a lot of luck with it, it prints very nicely at 170-175 while the PLA I have from Ultimachine likes to be printed at 205 but seems to print a little easier. I usually just shop for the best price out of places I trust.
January 14, 2014 09:07AM
I've had good luck with makergeeks PLA.
January 14, 2014 10:13AM
tjb1
I've used [www.justpla.com] and had a lot of luck with it, it prints very nicely at 170-175 while the PLA I have from Ultimachine likes to be printed at 205 but seems to print a little easier. I usually just shop for the best price out of places I trust.
I've used JustPLA, their prices are great and can be bought with free shipping from Amazon Prime for $32/kg. I've had great luck with their Turquoise and not-so-great luck with their black but I've got extruder issues at the moment that might be to blame.

The Faberdashery stuff is excellent but is really expensive if you look at what a kilogram would cost.. If you buy lots of colors in little pieces it's not so bad.