Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Need help building perhaps the biggest repstrap printer ever made!

Posted by TANelson1585 
Need help building perhaps the biggest repstrap printer ever made!
March 20, 2014 05:14AM
As the title says, I plan on making a large repstrap printer. I would like it to have a workspace of about 2' by 2' by 2' why so big? You may ask, I plan on having this for a lot of big projects, like when I finish it, I will be designing and printing a Marimba, which is a key percussion instrument. I also hope in the future to be able to print dirt bike trim pieces. What I need help with is I'm new to 3D printing and basically know nothing about it. I feel totally overwhelmed by this printer, I just need someone who feels like they know enough to help me break some of this stuff down and understand it a little better.
Re: Need help building perhaps the biggest repstrap printer ever made!
March 20, 2014 08:58AM
I can tell you right now, it is not the best idea to go big right from the get-go, especially if you dont know much about the technology.

I am sure others will point this out, but when you go big you will need to be VERY careful about reliability. Instead of taking a few hours to print, a large scale print can take DAYS! and if it fails 2.5 days into a 3 day print you just lost a lot of time and filament.

That being said, it is not impossible, but it will require a lot of research and design thinking.

What material did you want to print with?

greghoge.com

HUGE 3D PRINTER PARTS SALE!!!
March 20, 2014 09:10AM