Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hot-end and heated pad info

Posted by StlLooking 
Hot-end and heated pad info
September 26, 2014 03:31PM
Hi,

I know I could search on this, but I figured that the answers to the following are time-sensitive as products evolve, so I am sure this has been asked about a zillion times.

I am a retired Mechanical Engineer and along with a lot of other machines in my garage, I have a commercial ($30,000 in 1998) CNC milling machine with 30" x 20" x 20" envelope. It has 40" per min Feed and 100" per min Rapid with 0.0002" (two-ten-thousandths of an inch) repeatablity. Supper accurate and runs standard Fanuc GCode.

I don't use it much anymore and was thinking of adding some 3D printing parts to it. I am looking for advice on print heads, filament-controllers and heated pads. The heated pad does not need to be huge to play with this set up, so 6" x 6" or 8" x 8" would be fine. Being retired, I no longer have a lot of money to spend, so I want to get good equipment for a reasonable price.

I have seen the Gnexlab filament-controller but need advice on Thermocouple / Thermistor. I know the difference between them, but need to understand which is used where and why.

Who makes a good complete head at a reasonable price?

Thanks

Harry
Re: Hot-end and heated pad info
September 28, 2014 10:07PM