Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Sourcing Reprap parts in BULK for Uni club projectgrinning smiley

Posted by Sam Groll 
Sourcing Reprap parts in BULK for Uni club projectgrinning smiley
October 21, 2014 09:52AM
Hello everyone, we have a group of 20-30 students (in design, engineering, etc) at university who want to build their own Repraps. And I was really hoping that some of you might be able to lend some expertise to help make this great project happen.

First of all I was wondering Where Do You Buy Bulk Reprap Parts From?
I’ve found the cheapest price retail to be Aliexpress (I have bought 2 products from them and both came and look good, - the ramps/audrino and the nema 17s that had the most buyers)
However since we now have alot of keen interest (20-30 people atm) I am beginning to look for bulk suppliers of these parts however I have no experience with sites such as Alibarba, can anyone here lend me some expertise?

Also, Which is the best design? .... I know .. I’ve let the cat out of the bag again tongue sticking out smiley grinning smiley
But we were thinking between the Prusa i3, i2 or mendelmax? Is the i3 better than the i2?

Thats all the questions I have...... for now winking smiley

If anyone can give me their expertise it would be very much appreciated, not only by me but by the 20 students that are keen to merge into this community also. Thankyou very much
Kind Regards,
Sam Groll
Griffith University, Gold Coast, Australia
Re: Sourcing Reprap parts in BULK for Uni club projectgrinning smiley
October 21, 2014 02:00PM
For sourcing, I typically use Robotdigg. They have almost all parts all in one place. You could probably find all the parts you need for cheaper from a bunch of different places on Alibaba/Aliexpress, but ordering basically everything from one place makes life a lot easier.

For the printer, cheapest of those is the i2. Strongest, Mendelmax, and the i3 is very popular.