Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Remote monitoring of printer

Posted by Easy 
Remote monitoring of printer
November 06, 2014 02:36PM
I am new to 3d printing but while reading some of the threads on forums one thing I find frustrating to many is leaving the printer only to find on return a pile of spaghetti or a melted blob of plastic or something similar.
I have noticed that the Reptier Host software offers an app for smart phones that push notifications to the phone. But reading some of the reviews shows a bit of dissatisfaction with the app.
Is there any other options available, perhaps Bluetooth apps for smart phones, or maybe a camera setup that can be monitored on a smart phone, like a video baby monitor.
Re: Remote monitoring of printer
November 06, 2014 03:34PM
Ive got an aiball trek wifi camera on an arm on my prusa i2.
Not the greatest of images but does the job and is relatively cheap.
I just use one of the 5v supplies from my atx power supply to run it so its on when the printer is on.

[www.thingiverse.com]

Gordon
November 06, 2014 04:57PM
I use a camera as well. Mine is a Dlink camera and it runs over WiFi and I can check it from my phone or tablet.

It's not a good idea though to leave the house with a printer running (see the safety section) as several people have had printers catch on fire during prints. My home office is a few feet away from my bedroom so I do long prints at night (I am a very late night person) and I lay down and watch TV while they run. I figure I can smell or hear any major issues and I have my phone next to me so I can check on it periodically without getting up.
November 06, 2014 08:14PM
Octoprint with a Raspicam and you are good to go. You can also control the printer remotely as well.

[octoprint.org]
November 06, 2014 09:14PM
Thanks for the responses.
I have looked at the Octoprint web site and video, but am a little bit confused on how it works. Please keep in mind I am new to 3d printing.