Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

total newbie with dumb questions

Posted by linster 
total newbie with dumb questions
December 06, 2014 02:05PM
I have been researching 3D printing for a couple weeks now and will continue to learn more and more as my research goes on. I am interested in the 3D printing technology and the possibilities and would very much like to be part of this emerging and growing technology. Now with that said here come the dumb questions.

Can I make money with a 3D printer or can I with a $500 printer that I build using RepRap designs?
What are the ethical concerns regarding open source code for profit venture? (I am a nice person and would never want to step on any toes)

Eventually I will have more questions but this is a start anyway. I am saving my pennies so I can buy parts to make a printer.
Re: total newbie with dumb questions
December 06, 2014 06:33PM
Yes you can make money with open source. After a year of printing things for myself and others, it was time to start charging for things, afterall plastic isn't free. There is a website, which I can't find again, where you can advertise that you will print things for profit( or whatever). My 9 year old daughter is now producing keychains for her friends. I couldn't be happier that at the age of 9 is learning and embracing this technology, not to mention turning a buck..
December 07, 2014 12:13AM
Thanks for the reply. I'm fascinated with the technology but I hope to turn it into a business venture as well I see potential to reproduce obsolete parts with permission of course.
December 07, 2014 12:25AM
NB

this is a rapid prototyping printer...
not a final goods printer, you are always going to have layers. You can lower the size of the layer but this exponentially make prints take more time..

Some plastics can be chemically smoothed, but this destroys part tolerances