Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Total support on 12v? but D1 in or out?

Posted by Student95 
Total support on 12v? but D1 in or out?
January 20, 2015 04:00AM
Hallo,

I'm new in the 3D printing world.. and I've got some questions..

For my 3D printer im going to use a RAMPS 1.4 (http://reprap.org/wiki/RAMPS_1.4) with four A4988 stepper drivers, an Arduino MEGA 2560 R3 and a RepRapDiscount Full graphic smart controller.

I found out that my fan and my J head e3d operate at 12V, also do my NEMA 17 stepper motors run on 12v and my a4988 drivers run on 12v, so i was wondering if i could run my hole system on 12V?

Because first i made up a scheme with a 24v supply and a 12v supply but now im wondering (watch attachment), could I leave out the 24V supply and just power everything on 12v?

I looked up at the RepRapWiki but I couldn't make it clear for myself because there are some things they say about D1 which I don't really understand, like: "D1 should only be installed if the 5A rail is powered by 12V. It can be omitted and the Arduino will be powered from USB. You will want D1 installed if you add components to print without a PC. To reiterate, D1 MUST be omitted if you are powering the 5A rail by more than 12V, or the power is not absolutely clean, otherwise you may damage your ramps."

and later on the page there is been said: "Without D1 installed, or when the 12VIN is not connected, the Arduino gets its power from USB. If you want your kit powered without USB connected you need to solder in D1 OR connect VCC to your PSU.

The VCC pin can be connected to your ATX's 5Vsb to continuously power the Arduino from your ATX power supply. You will want to make sure that D1 is not installed or cut out. The Arduino is not designed to be powered directly on the VCC rail and the VIN pin at the same time.