Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder stops extruding randomly during printing

Posted by wheredidjengo 
Extruder stops extruding randomly during printing
October 02, 2013 12:37PM
Hi All,

I am new to 3D printing so please excuse me if I sound idiotic at times. I have recently built a RepRapPro Mendel and am performing test prints with a single material (PLA).

When performing test prints of a cube or even a flat disc of material I am having issues when randomly during the print the extruder doesn't seem to extrude anymore material thus leaving gaps in the piece (picture attached). I have performed the extruder calibration and it seems to be working fine but the problem still seems to arise. I have also cleaned the hobbed gear and slowed down the extrusion speeds but these inconsistencies are still present.

Please help any suggestions would be of great help! I have found myself pleading with an inanimate object which is driving me crazy!

Thanks so much!
Attachments:
open | download - photo.JPG (161.7 KB)
open | download - photo(1).JPG (101.1 KB)
Re: Extruder stops extruding randomly during printing
October 02, 2013 08:05PM
You must start the process of adjusting and calibrating your extruder.

That gear in your mechanical extruder doesn't always push the filament correctly
Adjust idler pressure on gear
The gear could be just chewing up filament
Clean gear and adjust
Your hotend Not hot enough
Adjust temperature
Inside of your Hotend (the tube that carries the filament) is not smooth enough
Clean out & polish
You nozzle plugged or partially plugged
Clean it out
Filament not sticking to bed or last layer
Level bed --- check z steps
Filament
Change color, type, or provider

Generally
Adjust 100s of parameters in software (slicer and program running printer

Then it could be a combination of any of these

You will get it right after 1000 meters of filament
October 03, 2013 04:43AM
Hopefully you won't waste a 1000m of filament !