Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to 3d printing need some advice

Posted by Nikki81 
New to 3d printing need some advice
March 22, 2015 04:36PM
Hi I am thinking of building my first reprap prusa i3 but I am a total novice with software. What software would be a good start for for a beginner ? Also where is the best place in the uk to buy frame parts for the single plate aluminium frame prusa i3.

Thanks Nikki
Re: New to 3d printing need some advice
March 23, 2015 04:55PM
For your first printer, you are best off going with a kit rather than piecing together the printer yourself. Buying from a reputable kit supplier will also mean dedicated support after the sale in most cases.

Most kits will ship with a RAMPS 1.4 board or similar 8-bit controller and rely on either Marlin or Repetier for the firmware to load onto the arduino chip. Again, the kit supplier will often provide a copy of the firmware that should be configured for your printer.

For software to connect to and control the printer, I believe the most common freely available options right now are MatterControl, Repetier-Host, and Ponterface. There are other options like OctoPrint, though most people will start out with Repetier-Host or Ponterface which are easier options to use.

For design software, AutoDesk 123 is a free option that is relatively easy to use. I think some people also use Sketch-up with addon's for generating STL files as well as more complex applications like Blender. Another alternative is OpenSCAD, but I believe it is a more procedual, programmatic tool rather than a straightforward design tool.
March 23, 2015 05:40PM
Thanks for your reply I should have said that I am a engineer by trade so building the hardware will be the easy part. I think I will download AutoDesk 123 for my cad program and use repetier for the firmware and host

thanks Nikki
March 23, 2015 09:07PM
Check out "Onshape" CAD. They are new to the market. Free to use.
March 23, 2015 09:07PM