Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Beginners Questions - Prusa i3

Posted by Kentish 
Beginners Questions - Prusa i3
January 18, 2015 05:05PM
Hi

Beginner here and I have a few questions!

Been buying bits for the Prusa i3 rework - for the last few months to spread the cost. So far I have the electronics, stepper motors, bearing and the majority of the bolts etc. So I have the following things left to buy.

Power Supply – Amazon 12V 30A PSU - browsed a few posts here and i think this should be ok (hopefully)

Bit torn on the frame , should I save some money and get the the mdf frame (ebay) – or the aluminium frame eBay

Is it ok to buy the hotend off eBay
or better to buy from a known supplier?

Once it's the printer is built it will be living in the garage as the wife approval factor for it coming to the house in nil, I live in Yorkshire, UK and the weather here is temperamental to say the least! Should I build an enclosure to try and stabilise the print temperature, if so can be box made of perspex sheets?

Cheers

Kentish

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/18/2015 05:05PM by Kentish.

Kentish

Starting out with the first build of a Prusa i3, Work in progress ... slowly....
Re: Beginners Questions - Prusa i3
January 18, 2015 09:15PM
for a hotend, best to get it from a nkown supplier, for the chamber? is your garage drafty? does the temperature flactuate by 5 or so degrees over the space of a few hours? It's most likely going to be fine, get the printer running and then decide if you need a chamber or not
January 19, 2015 02:44AM
Thank you

The garage is cold but it stays cold. So I'll wait and see.

Although by the time i got the final bits the weather should be warmer. I hope
January 19, 2015 09:30AM
Hello and welcome from another beginner. I am also working on putting together an I3 Rework 3d printer.