Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Perfactory Machine: Can we make one?

Posted by makeit 
Perfactory Machine: Can we make one?
July 13, 2008 02:11PM
Little backstory: My Sister is Friends with a Guy who owns/runs a foam shop. He uses hot wire machines to cut simple 2d foam shaped objects for his clients needs. He's built ever damn machine in that place. He is building a 3 axis machine.

He knows how to work/build with the large scale stepper motors, servos, motion controllers- the works. He uses Autocad to cut his patterns out and thats all been 2d until just recently.

I'm a 3d CGI artist guy. He asked my Sister to ask me if I could make him some 2d DFX files from any type of 3d model.

Trying to figure out how to do this. I found out about Meshlabs. It has a slice function that saves all the slices from the 3d model as 2d profile SVG "Scalable Vector Graphic". Theres another program out there called "POV-Ray" which might do a better job with this. It was used to do the same thing on a homemade sugar/heat based Rapid Prototype machine from the Evil Mad Scientist LAbs. That would probably be the better program to seek out if this Garage Perfacto Machine is possible.

Initially He was just going to wire cut out a few slices made from these 3d models and glue them all together to make the part, but now he's doing the 3 axis route. I need to get to the point.

Being exposed to all this stuff really set a fire to my backside.

I really want 3d prints of my work with excellent detailing. I want an RP machine of my very own.

I've seen all the machines out there and what they can provide and the Perfactory is the one thats standing on top of the mountain when it comes to Level of Detail and Speed. I make my model with 6 million polys most of the time. I want that kind of Detail!