Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printing nuts, bolts & screws - Is it possible? (Complete Newbie!)

Posted by Jon 
Jon
Printing nuts, bolts & screws - Is it possible? (Complete Newbie!)
July 23, 2012 05:06AM
Hi All...

Just wondering if any of you could relate your experiences 3D-printing threaded components - bolts, screws, nuts etc. What is the smallest possible standard thread size, without the printer resolution compromising functionality? And what model printer would you recommend for this kind of job?

I'm thinking fairly seriously about buying/making a 3D printer to make components that will need to screw together and be user-adjustable. 3D printing might be much cheaper than getting them made by a pro manufacturer...

Cheers,
Jon.
joo
Re: Printing nuts, bolts & screws - Is it possible? (Complete Newbie!)
July 23, 2012 05:15AM
[www.thingiverse.com] and [www.thingiverse.com] use printed threads. The planetary gear one probably gives the best impression of scale and usability. Also i think it's the smalles "usable" diameter/pitch

For holding stuff together self threading screws are way more useful than printed ones.
Jon
July 23, 2012 05:29AM
Thanks joo smiling smiley

Yeah, I'm sure off-the-shelf (metal) bolts are much better quality - but i'm designing components that, if they were to require standard hardware, would require hours of complicated assembly. And I need to make hundreds of them...

But those examples look quite similar to my application... promising!

One thing that occurred to me, though: If I'm making many of these objects, do I need to physically remove each object from the printer bed after it has finished printing, or are some printer models capable of somehow "ejecting" the made object and starting with a new object with no user input?
July 23, 2012 06:10AM