Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printer Enclosure Build

Posted by Brotherbrown831 
Printer Enclosure Build
October 29, 2015 02:28PM
(I tried to make this thread last week and couldn't get it right. I think I got it this time)

For many reasons I choose to keep my printer in the garage. To protect the print and control the temperature during the winter months I decided to build an enclosure. I am very new to the 3d printing world. I built my first 3D printer about 2 months ago. I absolutely love my printer and am very happy with the results of my enclosure project.

This was my starting point. I had an old craftsman roller box I wasn't really using so I turned it into my electronics and printer supplies storage box. The printer is a FolgerTech 2020 i3 with a few upgrades

The box is built out of 1/4 inch plywood

I added LED lights because they were laying in a drawer not being used and they look cool.

The door is .220 Plexi glass purchased at the local hardware store. The inside of the box was painted white to reflect the light and make is easier to view the print.

The outside was painted with spray-able PlastiDip because I had some laying around and it was a great color match to the box.

The Ramps and PS were moved outside of the enclosure to prevent heat issues with the stepper drivers. This required me to reverse the X carriage on the printer to make all the wires exit to the proper side of the box.

Only job left is to determine the best place to mount the LCD. Hope you all liked the project!
Re: Printer Enclosure Build
October 29, 2015 03:30PM
Very nice! Now you'll be able to print ABS with impunity!

Have you measured the temperature inside the enclosure after the machine has heated up?

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
October 29, 2015 11:20PM