Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Nickel Calibration Test

Posted by janhen2 
Nickel Calibration Test
July 31, 2012 05:02PM
I'm fairly new to the 3D printing world, and I just had one question.

What exactly is a nickel calibration test? How does it determine which axis on the bed is better?
Re: Nickel Calibration Test
July 31, 2012 05:15PM
This:
[www.thingiverse.com]

if you aren't american, you'll need to tweak the design to use one of your local coins. Theres a parametric verstion here:
[www.thingiverse.com]

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 07/31/2012 05:17PM by Andrew Smith.
July 31, 2012 05:22PM
August 07, 2012 04:01PM
I agree with Sublime. Because of the way curves are produced on these types of machines, (read Nopeheads work on poly holes) the hole for the nickel will likely be printed smaller than the dimensions laid out in the design. This would not be an accurate way to calculate the number of steps needed.

There are plenty of other much more accurate calibration STL's on thingiverse.
August 10, 2012 11:23PM
Well,

It is a bit vanilla, but Spacxula's calibration set is where I started winking smiley

Spacexula's Calibration Set

I like to use the 20mm block; I just print the first layer to make sure my "width over thickness" is on the money.

Maybe others would like to post their favorite calibration items here smiling smiley
August 10, 2012 11:30PM
I designed the "nickel test" and the "better nickel test" as a real way to test my prints. If I have an stl with 21.21 mm internal diameter and it print it a nickel should fit inside. That is the only point of the test. To make sure the parts you print are accurate to what you want to make. Plus you get to see which axis is making the circles, oval as well.

mrjohnecker on gmail, twitter, g+
geodroidjohn on youtube
August 13, 2012 06:17PM