Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Layers shift when printing circles.

Posted by Thingy 
Layers shift when printing circles.
August 04, 2012 03:23AM
I am quite new to this whole reprapping thiing. But as you can see on these images, the first one being the hollow cube, and the second being the better z-endstop calibrator thingie.

I did another set of couplings but they were also too slanted to use.

In the secod photo you can see how the first layers shift sideways, that is x-direction when doing circles, but when it's only straight lines it keep them straight.

I read on a blog that the pololu drivers might be at fault, so I tried adjusting the potentiometer but that made the x too hot to touch and started jittering. So I turned it down again.
I am using pronterface with the latest slic3r version. It's a sanguinololu v1.3a board with a 350W psu.

Anyone have any other idea, I could try to swap the pololu with z-axis to make sure that it's not a bad board.
I could also try to change the microsteps, I have them at 16x now.

If it were due to belt slack, wouldn't the layers shift both ways?

Hope someone have a great idea, preferable one that wont suggest buying a new stepper driver, cause I'ld hate to wait for delivery now that I am up and printing smiling smiley

Yes also I printed the cube with rectilinear infill and the z-endstop thing with honeycomb. If you think that might play into it.

Crosses thumbs for helpful input...
Attachments:
open | download - IMG_20120803_160515.jpg (228.2 KB)
open | download - IMG_20120804_090215.jpg (93 KB)
Re: Layers shift when printing circles.
August 04, 2012 03:44AM
You're losing steps. Swap the X and Y motor drivers and see if it stays with the X axis. If so, its probably mechanical, and over tight belt or a jammed bearing. If it moves to Y axis with the driver, then you most likely need a new driver.
August 05, 2012 12:43PM