Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Functionalities for a complex CNC controller

Posted by Briztou 
Functionalities for a complex CNC controller
October 02, 2017 03:44PM
Hey !!

My name is Raphaël Outhier, and I am a french developper, so before I begin, please excuse my approximative English.

I am a new member of this forum, so let me introduce myself briefly. I am a french engeneering student, in embedded systems. I own a reprap for around two years (an OrdBot Hadron), and I have spent a lot of time improving its performances.

For the last year, I have been working on TRACER, a highly reconfigurable mono-core robot controller, providing multiple modules.

It includes a stepper motor control module, built on the following paradigms (I only listed the main oned) :
- Multi axis support : The controller doesn’t have a pre-defined number of axis. The developer can configure the number of axis, and the appropriate code will be generated at compile time using X-Macro. The only limitation resides on the native type of the micro-controller you are building for (8 steppers for a 8 bit controller, 32 for a 32 bits). The controller can move all axis at the time, drawing each trajectory the developer may have implemented.
- Multi trajectory : The code is made so that any developer can easily implement a trajectory, if he knows a parametric equation for the trajectory. The controller takes the kinetics regulation in charge.