Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

My Introduction + Beginners Questions

Posted by igorchem 
My Introduction + Beginners Questions
August 31, 2012 09:42AM
Hi,

my name is Igor. I am new in 3d printing, but have srong experience in numerical mathematics and electronics: signal processing, linear and nonlinear iterative solvers, CFD, data prroximation; building power electronics, PIDs, push-pull, step-up, step-downs, pcb routing, microcontroller programming, MEMS, HPC FPGA.

Right now I am interesting to start with 3d printing, mainly because my hobby - airplane model development, and hope to contribute to reprap with my experience in numerical math or/and electronics.

I have no printer now, and I am planning to build it myself to reduce my expencies. I can build complete electronics like arduino + several full bridge control modules, but I do not know where to get the rest.

Additionally, due to my hobby I cannot restrict myself with small size 20x20x20 cm areas, my airplane models should be large enough and it would be nice to build models of 50x40x30cm.

My questions are:

1. is it possible to order only motors, extruders, weels, supports, without electronics (arduino etc) and be able to scale the system such a way to build models 50x40x30cm or larger, and if yes, where and how to do it and how expencive it could be?

2. is there simple and robust manual to build complete system from the scratch?

3. should I care anything else that probably I did not yet know?

Please, help me with my beginners questions!

Sincerely,

Igor
VDX
Re: My Introduction + Beginners Questions
August 31, 2012 10:26AM
... bigger parts will receive stronger warping - with ABS more, with PLA less, but not to ignore too.

Better start with a common design/size, gain experience, and then try to upscale and get away with bigger prints ...

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]