Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Tap and Die set

Posted by Qudet 
Tap and Die set
January 04, 2019 05:47AM
Can anyone recommend a decent-ish tap and die set? Machine Mart have a few (recommended by Practical Classics readers, I'm not sure what that means - Whitworth, AF? [mechanicguides.com] :lolsmiling smiley....
Just after something that I can use that won't fall to pieces after the first outing...

Cheers,

Chris

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/04/2019 05:48AM by Qudet.
Re: Tap and Die set
January 04, 2019 06:04AM
Depends on what threads you are cutting, and on what material. External or internal? Blind or through holes? Material? Just de-burring after cutting threaded rod? Cleaning threads? To be fair I'm no expert but those are the questions others may need answering to guide you to the best choice.

For working with most RepRap style machines I would imagine you want an ISO tap and die set at least covering M3, M4, M5, M6, M8, M10, M12. These do come in coarse and fine pitches. I think most of the fasteners on repraps are normally coarse thread.

[en.wikipedia.org]

The AF and Whitworth that you mention are different thread specifications. Have a look at the following if you want a better idea:

[en.wikipedia.org]

There are different types too, have a look at the following:

[en.wikipedia.org]

Edit: Those links look a little patronising without clicking them, that wasn't intended. They are linking through to specific pages rather than just taking you to the main wiki search page each time! :-)

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/04/2019 06:07AM by WesBrooks.
January 04, 2019 06:40AM
For 3D printer, small equipment.

Standard M2.5, M3, M4, M5, M6 "coarse" but in fact as fine as UNF. Metrics fine are used for some application but not needed here. Although a good choice for nozzle would have been M6X0.75 fine instead of M6 !

M8, M10, M12 are not really necessary here but if you are in cars, bikes etc OK