Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Will this motor do the job?

Posted by JP 
JP
Will this motor do the job?
April 30, 2007 11:21AM
Will this motor work with the Reprap?. Go tell me to sit in the corner facing the wall if you must (I know you wouldn't), but i'm new to all this and just starting to dip my toes in.

Stepping motor 2-phases
Steps per rev.: 200
Step Angle: 1.8
Attachments:
open | download - 7627_1.jpg (62.5 KB)
Re: Will this motor do the job?
April 30, 2007 11:23AM
"I'm slightly confussed as to what will actually be included in the 'complete kit' for the estimated $400?."

As I understand it it's supposed to include all the parts; motors, electronics, boards, steel rods @ etc. to make Darwin except for the PC needed to control Darwin.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 04/30/2007 11:46AM by Forrest Higgs.
JP
April 30, 2007 11:33AM
If that is the case then i'm more than prepared to wait.
April 30, 2007 11:49AM
Do keep in mind, though, that that parts price does not include the tools you will need to assemble Darwin. Remember that you will need a soldering workstation, a hacksaw, probably a vise, probably a set of metric Allen wrenches (keys), the odd Philips head screwdriver and the like. This can add considerably to the overall cost if you don't already have this sort of thing lying around at your place.

Also, as best as I understand this price does not include a support material extruder which will need another controller board and a few other things.
JP
April 30, 2007 12:14PM
Tools are not a problem,the missus makes sure I have all I need to tend to her...ehem.. our weekend diy needs.

Support material extruder?.
Now if i've done my homework,that will be the part that will extrude (unknown) material to support voids in the build to stop them collapsing in on themselves?.
As discussed in this thread...

[forums.reprap.org]
April 30, 2007 12:28PM