Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New Filaments - Heavy Weight, Rubbery, Conductive, Semi-conductive

Posted by Simba 
Re: New Filaments - Heavy Weight, Rubbery, Conductive, Semi-conductive
October 04, 2012 10:39AM
This is very interesting, im sure a lot of people are interested in testing your products and I'm one of them!

If by chance you still need ppl to beta test and help iron out the kinks I'm in.
October 05, 2012 12:44PM
Because he/she/it is a spam account?
October 05, 2012 01:48PM
Hurr durr. Thanks. My bad.
Guys,

I am a chemist with experience in development and testing of polymer thick film "inks" (pastes) for electronics applications. Also, development work (resulting in a patent) on making oxidized metal poweders highly concuctive for use as conductive fillers in various thermoplstics for injection molded conductive plastics.

Take my experienced word for it: you cannot simply mix the various fillers that are listed in these posts into a polymer melt and expect a suitable bond to form between the filler and polymer. Some fillers simply cannot work with some polymers. Most fillers that can be made compatible with the polymer require either a chemical coupling agent applied to the filler, or at least mixed with the polymer. It typically requires some trial-and-error experimentation to find a cost effective treatment, if one can even be found.

In addition, the mechnical properties of the polymer are altered with filler addition. The goal is normally to improve a specific property. However, this usually comes at the expense of some other property. Also, there is simply a physical limit on the filler load that a polymer can take before the mechanical properties are so comprimised as to make the composite material unsuitable for any practical use.