Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3D Printer, which one is the best?

Posted by trustnoone 
3D Printer, which one is the best?
September 26, 2012 07:43AM
Hi everyone, okay I'm going to do the ultimate illegal thing in a forum an ask a quesiton without searching for it first, so I will try to make my question more specific.

Basically I would like to buy a 3D printer, but I'm not sure which one, I hear an see a lot about the makerbots, but for some reason something about the reprap kind of makes me like it so much more.
Basically my thought process is like this, I would prefer to buy something under $2000 although I'm happy to go above that if its worth it. I guess the biggest part is going to be obviously quality versus cost, as I'm not too worried about things timewise.

The other things to keep in mind is that I'm a complete noob, and have little idea in terms of 3D printing, I've looked up quite a bit but still I would prefer something either already made, or pretty much made or at least a kit, so basically no building myself. One day I hope to make my own Reprap but I don't really have the time at the moment.

Also theres the point of whether to wait for the new replicator or the one coming out next year, which I'm also keeping in mind.

Other then that, thats about it, so was kind of wondering what you guys would suggest in buying for a complete noob. In terms of what I will use it for, it will basically be used for moderate prototyping and to print things from thingiverse tongue sticking out smiley
Re: 3D Printer, which one is the best?
September 26, 2012 07:47AM
So, you want an already built "turnkey" one, or would you consider buying and assembling a kit ?

Most of my technical comments should be correct, but is THIS one ?
Anyway, as a rule of thumb, always double check what people write.
September 26, 2012 07:52AM
What do you mean by turnkey? As in fully built already? I guess so yes